top of page

Seasoned for Use


Although one of my biggest thrills during the Christmas holiday is seeing the joy of my children and grandchildren opening their gifts, I must admit, there is one that always makes me feel like a kid myself, “Cookware!”. This year, my family blessed me with a couple of those popular red copper skillets that I kid you not, when I opened the box (which by the way, they camouflaged in last year’s juicer box to completely throw me off guard), I could almost hear the sound of a majestic choir as the sky seemed to have opened up beaming bright rays of light upon each pan as it slowly emerged from the box. A little exaggerated? Probably, but I do tend to tap into my giddy side when it involves one of my personal passions, "Cooking" and all that it entails.

Needless to say, I looked forward to using them but alas, it wouldn’t be that day. As I’d exhausted my passion after being in the kitchen preparing our holiday meal for fourteen hours straight already. But a couple of days later, I decided I would make one of my favorite breakfast items, a “Veggie omelet”, made of perfectly seasoned eggs, filled with kale, spinach, cherry tomatoes, mushrooms, celery, peppers and onions sprinkled with cheese and topped off with a generous portion of Sriracha to give it that extra "humph" I love so well.

So I eagerly got one of my skillets and was prepared to wash it and put it to use when I noticed that behind the description and the advertisement sealed inside of the pan were “First time use” instructions. They began with the statement that went something like this: Just as professional chefs do for high quality cookware (I’m feeling special already :-) ), the pan will need to be seasoned before use. The process then requires oiling the pan thoroughly and placing it into a 300 degree oven for 20 minutes, carefully removing it from the oven with an oven mitt, letting it cool completely, then wiping it with a clean cloth or paper towel before it is ready for use. You are also told to repeat this process at least twice a year for regular maintenance to preserve its quality. Needless to say, I followed the directions to the “t” after I made my omelet in one of my old trusted copper bottom skillets which I’d gotten, oh maybe nine or ten Christmases ago. And believe me, “that omelet was D’licious!”

As we prepare for the new year of 2017, I've heard one person after another describe this past year as feeling like one of the longest they can remember. Many have faced great challenges; some of which still linger and seem to be holding on for dear life as though the expiration date is approaching, but they are determined to hold on to the bitter end.

Some experienced painful losses, changes in relationships, economic uncertainty, delicate issues which required special attention to what was said, as a careless choice of words could cause devastation. There were opportunities that although sure, required patients and challenged us to prepare for them in ways that pushed us past previous limits. Many of us (due to the intensity of the battle) have taken our prayer lives to levels we’ve never experienced before while still feeling the heat of circumstances surrounding us, yet not being consumed by them. I can relate all too well, as even though my mind could not conceive what possible good was to come out of this present test or trial, in my spirit, there'd be peace.

As I was speaking with a very dear Sister/Friend of mine today, it occurred to me that this day seemed different than others I’d experienced in previous years preparing to go into the New Year. There wasn't the usual excitement, but rather a reflective resolve, kind of like a soldier who's been fighting a long, intense battle but has just learned it's coming to an end with the responsibility of possessing what has come with such a great price.

I do believe that 2017 is going to be a phenomenal year especially for Believers. There will be unprecedented opportunities and accomplishments unlike anything we’ve ever known. The creativity and exposure of seemingly obscure folk are going to be more and more common place as we are going to see some of the greatest breakthroughs in every walk of life. But I also get the sense that the ones who walk in this new dominion will be those who'll be met with greater challenges, whose hearts are rooted in a loving God and dedicated to serving others. People who have been favored, not only by what they have been through, but because they understand why.

As I reflected, it occurred to me that this past year has been similar to the preparation for use of my new pots, a “Seasoning” or tempering period, preparing us for The Masters Use. Some have received a Word from the Lord that He was going to use us in mighty ways. We answered “Yes” to the call and were given ideas, witty inventions, programs, books and gifts. Initially, the idea we could accomplish them seemed to lofty to comprehend, but when we understood it would be by His Grace, we were ready to run with it. But the Master Chef, though He is preparing a table before you in the presence of your enemies, had to do some prep work first.

Think about it: Jesus was seasoned before he actually accomplished what he came to do, Go to the Cross; He was anointed with oil, submitted himself to the will of the Father in the Garden of Gethsemane, endured the heat of the trial of men was beaten, scourged and bruised all before even being served up as the Holy Lamb, slain for Mankind. He was the bread which was blessed and broken for us. Now we (His Disciples) desiring to come after Him, choosing to deny ourselves, taking up our crosses, have chosen to follow Him. If we really believe that this New Year is the time when God is going to use us mightily, we must also understand that there is a responsibility to walk in this service. “To whom much is given, much is required” Salvation was been paid for by Jesus’ sacrifice, but the anointing in which we serve will cost us.

When we said “Yes” to the Father and asked Him to use us, we'd already been given the grace needed to endure everything we’ve gone through this past year. Nothing you lost, gave away, or walked away from was needed to fulfill His promise in your life. God doesn’t have amnesia concerning His promise toward you. What He said, He will do in, through and for you, He Will Do! Every time the heat was turned up in your life, it was seasoning or tempering you for what you were being prepared for. A table, in the presence of your enemies!

No weapon that has been formed against you will prosper, every tongue that has risen against you to judge you, will be refuted by you, your heritage is of the Lord and the righteousness you walk in, and is of Him! This is what the Lord says about You!

Like it was when I received my Christmas gifts, so are we when Daddy God gives us gifts. We want to use them right away. But as I came to learn before using my pots, it takes preparation to use the gift properly and to maintain its quality.

So if any of this has resonated with you, it is probably an indication that you are one of those whose time has come to be served up! You’ve been anointed; you’ve been tempered within the controlled environment you were planted in. He’s carefully taking you out of the furnace of affliction of which you endured, getting rid of the impurities in you and now there’s a cooling period you must experience while patience is being perfected in you. But soon, the same oil (anointing) that took you through the mourning will be turned into your joy. You will be called a “Tree of Righteousness” used for a display of His glory! You’ve been “Seasoned for Use!”

Isaiah 61:3 King James Version (KJV)

3 “To appoint unto them that mourn in Zion, to give unto them beauty for ashes, the oil of joy for mourning, the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness; that they might be called trees of righteousness, the planting of the Lord, that he might be glorified.”


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Wix Google+ page
bottom of page